Go Explore Someone Else’s Backyard!

Now that summer is here and school is calm I have had a lot more time to explore. I’ve explored areas of Reno and Tahoe that I hadn’t been to, and I’ve explored activities that I hadn’t done yet (see blog on the RTO here). What I have enjoyed exploring the most though are areas that aren’t familiar to me, other people’s backyards.

Ok, so not other people’s backyards in a literal sense, but other places in this Reno/Tahoe area and country that I haven’t explored yet. I’ve gone down to Southern California in the last week exploring hot springs, beaches and other areas. First, we camped at a natural hot spring in Bishop, California.

The campground was exactly what we needed in order to car camp one night and get on the road down to Southern California the next day. We explored dirt roads and trails outside of the campground and found a little natural made hot spring pool. It was a neat and kind of gross experience. We were sitting in the hot spring enjoying a couple of beers when we noticed little red worms crawling all over us, so we were quick to finish our drinks and get out of there. However, I wouldn’t trade the experience exploring the area with my girlfriend, and we got to see the full moon rising over the red mountains in the area, it was pretty amazing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The camping trip was totally spur the moment, we had decided the night before to stop halfway through the drive and camp outside Bishop. This trip, that was whipped up in no time turned out to be quite the experience. It reminds me that it’s not always the destination that matters but the adventure along the way. Don’t get me wrong, the destination was absolutely perfect, we went to Huntington Beach and eventually Disneyland. The adventure to get there though was memorable as well.

Go explore a place you have yet to experience, come back here and tell me how it was!

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

